25th World Left Handed Golf Champions

25th World Left Handed Golf Champions

Western Australian John Boulton and Johanna Wyllie from Bairnsdale were crowned the respective men’s and women’s champions as the 25th World Association of Left Handed Golfers (WALG) Championship concluded in Melbourne today (Friday 27 October) at The National (Long Island site), Woodlands and Spring Valley Golf Clubs.

The 72-hole Championship saw 214 left-handed golfers participating from all Australian States and overseas including the USA, UK, France, Sth Africa, Japan, Taiwan, Uganda, Germany, Sweden and China. Over 30 player partners are also enjoyed the Spring weather and a Melbourne golfing experience.

Boulton reigned supreme in the overall men’s title with rounds of 74, 67, 69 and a closing 72 for a five-under total of 282. He finished 20 strokes clear of the runner-up, Jason Leary from New Zealand on 302 with Queensland’s Drew Herbert in third place on 308.

23-year-old Wyllie powered away in the final round with a 79 at The National (Long Island site) for a 72-hole total of 323 to win the women’s title by 11-strokes from China’s Zhi-Ying Zhang. Uganda’s Gloria Mbaguta was third on 348

In addition to the respective Men’s and Women’s World Left Handed Championship titles, male players participated in age based Divisions with additional score based grades also established for men and women after the opening 36-holes.

A summary list of all respective Division and grade winners is as follows:

Open Division – John Boulton (Australia, WA) – 282

Senior Division – Joseph Brogden (United States) – 325

Super Senior Division – Geoffrey Ingram (New Zealand) – 337

Ladies – Johanna Wyllie (Australia, VIC) – 323

Whilst the event has been previously played in Australia on three occasions since the inaugural Championship was held in Sydney in 1979, this was the first time Melbourne had hosted this unique title. Golf Victoria is very proud of the many quality golf clubs within our State and we would especially thank Commonwealth, Huntingdale, Keysborough, The National, Spring Valley and Woodlands for supporting the 2017 Championship.

The host clubs provided a wonderful reflection of the architectural style, playing challenges and landscape of Victorian golf, which is renowned the world over and has attracted players accordingly.  A complete history and honour roll of the Championship can be found on the World Association of Left Handed Golfers website.

Golf Victoria