This time we travelled to New Zealand for the 8th World Championship, this was our second visit to New Zealand having played the 3rd World Championship there in 1983. The 72 hole tournament was played at the Harewood Golf Club a 36 hole complex right next to the Christchurch Airport, two rounds were played on each course. The tournament headquarters was the Commodore Airport Hotel where we all gathered on Monday evening, 1st February 1993. for the welcome cocktail party. The President of NALG (N.Z) Neville Lucas welcomed all participants and wished everyone a memorable week.

There were 383 competitors from 10 countries, Australia (77), Canada (4), England (5), Germany (3), Ireland (6), Japan (5), New Zealand (252), Sweden (3), Taiwan (13) and U.S.A. (15).  This year saw the first Ladies World Championship. There were entrants from 5 countries, Australia (2), Canada (2), England (1), New Zealand (18) and Taiwan (1).

The tournament was played on Tuesday 2 February, Wednesday 3 February, Thursday 4 February and Friday 5 February 1993.

The Presentation dinner was held at the Harewood Golf Club on Friday 5 February, 1993.

The World Champion was Jason Leary, New Zealand.

The Senior Champion was Harold Bartlett, Australia.

The Lady Champion was Lisa Aldridge, New Zealand.

The Doug Crosby World Cup was won by Australia.


L – R Peter Read (Aust), Jason Leary World Champion (N.Z.) Neville Lucas President NALG (NZ).

Winners Doug Crosby World Cup – Australia
L – R Max Nightingale, Peter Bradley, Peter Read, Doug Crosby Chairman WALG, Kelvin Peart and Neville Lucas President NALG (N.Z.)